Remember the People of the Virgin Islands

I have been following this blog since just about the time I started blogging and I thought his perspective on hurricanes was so relevant.

SKYLARITY

Life has a funny way of repeating itself. At the age of 14, I lived through one of the most intense hurricanes to ever hit the Caribbean. Hurricane Hugo laid waste to my Island of St. Croix. Many months would pass before my family would regain any sense of normalcy. We grew used to taking cold bucket showers outside without any thought of whether we were being watched by some malevolent human predator.

We learned how to navigate through a darkened and partially-covered tarp roof house. The buzzing sounds of flies by day and mosquitoes by night became our unrelenting summer symphony. Consuming deliciously-served room temperature MRE’s was always an adventure. My siblings and I would argue about whom would get the last MRE fudge brownie. Our favorite pastime activity included playing with other survivors of the storm up to the last second before the martial law curfew went into…

View original post 469 more words

Leave a Reply

